Articles in Category: Powder Skiing

The latest news from the catskiing / snowcat industry.  Where to ski, who has snow, whats happening.  We also post reviews of the latest gear, skis, and some general interest stuff.  Be sure to check for last minute deals to make your winter vacation the best.

Light it up with this new ski flick from Sweetgrass Productions

on Sunday, 28 September 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing By: Todd Avison

Watch and Enjoy the Afterglow Trailer

The new trailer for Afterglow from Sweetgrass Productions looks quite unique. With a partnership from Philips they have strapped what looks like hundreds of lights to the skiers which results in an amazing illuminescent display. It sure gets our creative juiced flowing. With all the new boundaries ski movies are pushing you can't help but get excited.

Enjoy the trailer and be sure to check this one out when it is released.

Backcountry Access BC Link Group Communication

on Wednesday, 03 September 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing, Gear Spotlight, Gear News By: Adam Benson

Backcountry Access BC Link Group Communication

This past season Backcountry Access came out with the BC Link. An affordable and easy to use 2-way radio with all the features designed for backcountry and winter use.

When it comes to backcountry skiing and travel, safety is paramount. Whether you’re a catsking operator, or just a recreational ski bum, this fact should remain the same. One more way to ensure safety in a group is communication. Ski guides and professionals have been carrying portable radios for years, and it is becoming more common for entire groups to be linked up. This is where the BC Link fills a need.

First Snow of 2014 at Big Red Catskiing!

on Wednesday, 03 September 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing By: Todd Avison

Looky looky what appeared at BRC overnight

First Snow of 2014 at Big Red Catskiing!

Buyer's guides are on the shelves, ski movie trailers are all over the net, stoke is high and look what fell from the skies over the Big Red Cats terrain! It is only the third day of September and the snow has started to fly. Kieren and Kauri went out to start working on roads they were greeted with this early season treat. Kieren says that this may be the earliest he has seen snow in the past 10 years. Let's hope this is a good sign for things to come!

Pretty Faces Trailer

on Wednesday, 03 September 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing By: Todd Avison

Lynsey Dyer launches the first all-women ski flick

Lynsey Dyer and her crew of rippin' skier women have just released the trailer to their new film - Pretty Faces. If the trailer is any indication, this film is going to be unreal. It will also shake up the ski scene giving focus on the women that are forging ahead in the world of freeskiing.

You'll also see the ladies skiing some sick BC powder on location at Retallack Catskiing and Eagle Pass Heliskiing. 

Watch for the World Premier September 30th. Until then, enjoy the trailer.

More info: www.unicornpicnic.com

The All-New Skevik Loken Review

on Thursday, 24 July 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing, Gear Spotlight By: Todd Avison

Hang on and enjoy the ride!

Skevik Loken Ski Review

Not Your Typical Ski Test
When most testers try out new skis it is on a busy ski hill with questionable conditions. They usually get a run or two and make their assessment. Not us. No, we took our Loken's right from the hand made factory to the peaks of Snowwater Heliskiing for a 4-day intensive test run. With the experience of testing the Skevik Oda and the Anton we were familiar with how the brand felt. The Oda is a big reverse sidecut, reverse camber fun stick while the Anton is a burly big mountain slayer. The Loken, as we found out, was as different animal all together.

The First Run
Stepping out of the helicopter on our first run we found ourselves on top of a wide open bowl to get warmed up on. After studying the skis for a few days my impression was that it would be quick and light edge to edge but also would break free easily in the pow. I was half right. After clicking in we all dropped into the bowl one after another. I thought I would pull a full speed long drawn out turn but the Loken had something else in mind. As soon as I initiated my turn it gripped and held like it was on rails! I was pleasantly surprised. This ski wanted to go. Three turns later I was at the bottom and I knew that the Skevik Loken and I were going to get along great.

Skevik Loken Review - Adam Benson

The Rest of the Day
The entire first day at Snowwater was spent in open bowls, steep chutes and lots of time playing in the trees. It was in the trees where I really fell in love with the Loken. It is so nibble from edge to edge and has a very light swing weight. After a day of skiing I didn't feel fatigued from lugging a massive ski around. Yet is still hung on at high speeds. The Loken is a perfect blend of what a skier would want: light and nimble in the trees and a confidence inspiring powerhouse in the bowls.

Some Technical Background
The Loken comes in two widths: 106mm and 116mm. We opt'd for the 116mm since we do most of our skiing in the deep powder of the BC backcountry. Lengths range from 164cms to 188cms.We tested the 188. The ski design has a more traditional sidecut combined with a longer more subtle rise tip and a lower profile tail (to accommodate skins better). The Loken still has the same bombproof solid wood construction as the rest of the Skevik line up as well as the ultra fast base.

Skevik Loken - Todd Avison

Quality
The quality of the Skevik Loken is top notch. They are constructed in a small shop in Vernon which is in the interior of British Columbia. Only the best hard maple wood cores are selected, hand routered and layed up for pressing. Skevik uses 4001 sintered bases – not often seen in the freeride world as companies want fancy graphic bases. The base material is lightning fast and hard enough to handle the odd rock scuff. The top sheets are tough as well which is good because all of the graphics are designed by local artists and really add to the story of Skevik. Our pair was layed up with the new futuristic looking Scheske design. Overall quality is excellent. Handcrafted skis at its best.

skevik-loken-scheske

The Verdict
Buy a pair! If you are looking around at new skis consider shopping for something more grassroots. Skevik offers an excellent alternative to the big brands and has the quality and experience to it back up. The Lokens are a perfect one-ski quiver. They deliver float, pop, power and speed in the pow and chop. If you are skiing on piste they hang on to the hardpack and are fun to carve. Being lighter than most big skis in their category makes it so you can ski first chair to last without your legs dropping off. If you find yourself in a cat or heli, they will take on any feature the terrain can throw at them. Finally, if you are a granola crunching ski touring type, the skis are light enough to skin up without losing performance on the way down. For $649 and available in 2 sizes you can't miss with the Skevik Loken.

Winter is coming! Time to start planning your trip to SWS for 2014/15

on Friday, 30 May 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing By: Adam Benson

Only a few spots left...Early bird gets the pow!

Winter is coming! Time to start planning your trip to SWS for 2014/15

Are these long summer days and warm weather getting you down? This may sound weird to some people, but if you're like us and you long for winter as soon as it's over, we understand. Well, here is great chance to start planning ahead for 2014/15 when the snow is falling again. The original catskiing operation, Selkirk Wilderness Skiing, has a few open spots for next season. As I can tell you from experience, their skiing is amazing the staff will welcome you to the lodge and treat you like you're part of the family. These dates never last long, so drop them a line and tell them catskiing.ca sent you.

  • Tour #401, Dec.17-20/2014 (3 day package ~ 8 spaces available)
  • Tour #405, Jan.11-17/2015 (5 day package ~ 7 spaces available)
  • Tour #406, Jan.18-24, 2015 (5 day package ~ 6 spaces available)
  • Tour #413, March.8-14/2015 (5 day package ~ 1 space available)
  • Tour #414, March.15-21/2015 (5 day package ~ 2 spaces available)
  • Tour #416, Mar.29-Apr.4/2015 (5 day package ~ Open)

Travis Rice on the Roots of The Red Bull Supernatural and Baldface Catskiing

on Thursday, 01 May 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing By: Todd Avison

Getting back to the roots of snowboarding to discover the future.

Travis Rice is truely a modern day pioneer of the sport of snowboarding. He gives a lot of credit to Craig Kelly for inspiring him but up and comers are looking to Travis for their inspiration. In this video Travis along with other Red Bull Supernatural stars explain what led them to BaldFace Catskiing and why they do what they do.

Orage Masters IX at Retallack Catskiing

on Wednesday, 16 April 2014. Posted in Powder Skiing By: Todd Avison

Booters, Pow, Metal, Superheros and Flamingos

It all happened on March 25th to 28th at Retallack Catskiing Lodge - The Orage Masters Competition. Not alot of pow to drool over in this vid but tonnes of backcountry booter action in an unreal backcountry catskiing setting. Enjoy watching the fun times as you get stoked for next season!

Here is a little explanation of what this event is:

The Orage Masters event is a team vs team battle of fun, bragging rights and ski trickery that leaves athletes and spectators speechless and begging for more. This year, skiing's one and only "anti-comp" is headed to the backcountry of Retallack lodge, BC with 10 of the most diverse skiers in the world, each set to show the world what a good time looks like… and maybe win $10,000 dollars cold hard cash along the way compliments of Orage and Outdoor Technology.

Check out more of the action here: www.orage.com/masters